A Fruitive Company Blog

Recipe Friday: Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

Vega's Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

Vega’s Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

Happy Recipe Friday!

Today we will be featuring Kim McDevitt, MPH, RD – a registered dietitian and Regional Educator for Vega!


Hi Fruitive! I’m Kim McDevitt, a Regional Educator for Vega, a registered dietitian (RD), runner, blogger, and food enthusiast!

My passion in the nutrition field is learning and teaching the power of food and its fit within a specific lifestyle. In fact, my personal love of running, and learning how to properly fuel for my runs, is what triggered my interest in nutrition and led me into my career. I’m always looking for the best pre and post-run foods, and more often than not find myself reaching for a smoothie.

Here’s why …

I think smoothies are one of those “perfect meals” and there are a number of reasons I find myself blending one daily. Smoothies help you to pack a lot of healthy nutrients into one glass, often meeting the recommended daily value of all your nutrients in one meal! Plus, the volume of liquid helps keep you hydrated and blended foods are very easy to digest—our bodies assimilated liquid nutrients much faster than the whole food counterparts. Finally, they are amazing pre-workout fuel, giving you high energy and eliminating digestive discomfort that often comes after eating a meal and then exercising (even after waiting a bit).

I love using seasonal ingredients in my smoothies, and often I find myself making them not just for breakfast but as a late night treat too. This Pumpkin Pie Smoothie is one of those!

Plus, it’s packed with plant-based protein powder – Vega One French Vanilla!

CLICK TO ENLARGE OR PRINT

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie


Kim McDevitt, MPH, RD: As a registered dietitian and Regional Educator with Vega, Kim has a passion for teaching the power of nutrient dense, plant based foods. She helps her audiences to understand health in an approachable way–with plenty of laughter and stories. As a runner, cooking enthusiast and plant-focused flexitarian, with advanced degrees in both nutrition science and public health, Kim loves to inspire others through her creative recipes, personal experience, and engaging training events.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

