A Fruitive Company Blog

Recipe Friday: Roasted Fennel, Eggplant, and White Bean Soup

Roasted Fennel, Eggplant, and White Bean Soup

Roasted Fennel, Eggplant, and White Bean Soup | Photo By: Ethel Badawi

Happy Recipe Friday!

Today we will be featuring Ethel Badawi of Eating in Instead.


I am delighted that I get to share a recipe with all of you today that is perfect for Fall and Winter.  I connected with #LiveYourHealth through Virginia is for Bloggers and I am a big fan of both!  I can’t wait to make a visit to Fruitive the next time I’m in Virginia Beach visiting my family.

For me, Eating In Instead is a way to share my love of food and cooking.  Cooking and eating at home is one way I try to keep a healthier lifestyle—plus it saves money!  I used to hate cooking, but when my husband and I moved from Arlington, VA to rural Indiana in 2007, I discovered that cooking at home was the only way we could stick to a healthy diet.  We didn’t have access to healthy dining options like Fruitive!  My first few attempts in the kitchen weren’t always success stories, but I quickly learned that the only way to get better at cooking was to keep trying new recipes and techniques.  It only took a couple of really yummy, healthy, dinners before I had the vote of confidence I needed to stick to it and forge ahead.  When we moved back to Virginia, I had access to a wider variety of ingredients and we tried to keep our home-cooked meals focused on plant-based foods.

Roasted Fennel, Eggplant, and White Bean Soup

Roasted Fennel, Eggplant, and White Bean Soup | Photo By: Ethel Badawi

Earlier this year, we moved to Rabat, Morocco and cooking familiar foods is definitely a way I combat homesickness.  I’ve also found that cooking and sharing recipes is a great way to bring a taste of the US to my new friends in Morocco and vice versa.  Shopping for food in Rabat is a completely different experience and I purchase all of my fruits and veggies from a produce stand 3 blocks from our apartment.  This means I usually get what is local and in season, and these days it means a lot of fennel.  I recently made this hearty ROASTED FENNEL, EGGPLANT, AND WHITE BEAN SOUP for lunch and it’s definitely made it into my regular recipe rotation.  It’s a wonderful way to enjoy both eggplant and fennel. Enjoy!

Roasted Fennel, Eggplant, and White Bean Soup

Roasted Fennel, Eggplant, and White Bean Soup | Photo By: Ethel Badawi

Roasted Fennel, Eggplant, and White Bean Soup

CLICK TO ENLARGE OR PRINT

For more Eating in Instead recipes visit Ethel’s blog, facebook, twitter, instagram, google+, and pinterest.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

