A Fruitive Company Blog

Recipe Friday: Banana Cacao Chip Muffins

Banana Cacao Chip Muffins | The Blonde Vegan

Banana Cacao Chip Muffins | The Blonde Vegan

Happy Recipe Friday!

Today we are featuring Jordan Younger, author and founder of The Blonde Vegan!


Hi, I’m Jordan, I’m a passionate food blogger, yoga teacher, creative writing MFA student and green smoothie addict. I’m a California girl living in NYC and lover of all things health and fitness. But most importantly, I’m the founder and author of The Blonde Vegan. I am passionate about sharing my lifestyle, answering questions, and gaining inspiration from like-minded individuals. Don’t ever hesitate to contact me. I absolutely love hearing from you!

The Blonde Vegan

The Blonde Vegan

How I #livemyhealth …

I live my health by prioritizing health and fitness above everything else in my life. After a lifetime of battling severe stomach problems, I found health, happiness and balance in the vegan lifestyle. I eat an entirely plant-based diet and I exercise every day. I practice yoga daily and I am training for a half-marathon. Oh, and I walk everywhere I possibly can! It’s the littlest things that can end up making the hugest differences. And lots of green smoothies – I am a green smoothie maniac!

The Blonde Vegan

The Blonde Vegan

I’m loving #LiveYourHealth and I’m excited to be able to share one of my favorite recipes with all its readers!

Banana Cacao Chip Muffins

What to do when you have four super duper ripe bananas staring you in the face (on the verge of collecting fruit flies)?

Normally my answer would be to chop them, freeze them and save them for banana ice cream… But after my visit to the nutritionist last weekend I have been cutting back on my fruit intake, which sadly doesn’t leave much room for my beloved banana ice cream. Still, limiting myself to four servings of fruit per day has been working wonders on my tummy problems so I’ll take it.

Banana Cacao Chip Muffins | The Blonde Vegan

Banana Cacao Chip Muffins | The Blonde Vegan

If you’re not gonna freeze ‘em, might as well bake with them! I have been craving a nice cakey, flavorful banana chocolate chip muffin lately. One that tastes delicious and is not full of refined sugar, preservatives, oil, milk and flour. The art of eating clean means that everything you put into your body is fueling you in one way or another. Health = Nutrients / Calories.

Banana Cacao Chip Muffins | The Blonde Vegan

Banana Cacao Chip Muffins | The Blonde Vegan

Every ingredient in these banana chip muffins has great health properties. They are full of protein, fiber, potassium, iron and your daily intake of vitamins. Sugar-free, gluten-free, flour-free, oil-free, and totally all natural. And delicious!  These are actually little chunks of heaven, and I adore them.

Banana Cacao Chip Muffins | The Blonde Vegan

Banana Cacao Chip Muffins | The Blonde Vegan

Banana Cacao Chip Muffins

What You’ll Need:
4 overripe bananas
¼ cup flaxseed
¼ cup almond butter
1.5 cup oats
¼ cup cacao nibs
Optional: 1 tablespoon coconut palm sugar (I added this. So yummy) and/or 1-2 tablespoons agave to sweeten. You can also add dairy-free chocolate chips instead of cacao nibs depending on how clean/sweet you want these to be.

Banana Cacao Chip Muffins | The Blonde Vegan

Banana Cacao Chip Muffins | The Blonde Vegan

What You’ll Do:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
2. Mash the bananas with a fork or a mashing tool until smooth.
3. Add in flaxseed, almond butter, oats, cacao nibs and optional ingredients and stir well.
4. Scoop spoonfuls into muffin tin, or roll into cookies or balls. If they are still so gooey/liquidy from the mashed banana, add more oats, more flaxseed and/or more almond butter until a dough-like consistency is formed. I topped mine with extra cacao nibs and banana slices for aesthetic purposes.
5. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown around the edges.
6. Let cool, and enjoy!

Banana Cacao Chip Muffins | The Blonde Vegan

Banana Cacao Chip Muffins | The Blonde Vegan

*Store in fridge and either eat cold (so yummy) or reheat in the oven before eating them. I’ve found that room temperature their consistency becomes a little soft and mushy.

Enjoy!!!


Want more of the Blonde Vegan, visit her at www.theblondevegan.com, and don’t forget to say hello! She loves connecting with her readers. Or check out her Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest or Twitter.

Also, don’t forget to connect with Fruitive on FacebookInstagram,Twitter, & Pinterest!

2 Responses to “Recipe Friday: Banana Cacao Chip Muffins”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

