A Fruitive Company Blog

Featured Local Artist: Abbie Korman

Cherry Blossoms | Abbie Korman

Today we will be featuring our newest featured local artist, Abbie Korman, whose photographs are currently being displayed at our Hilltop North restaurant.

We’ve asked her a few questions in order to give you a behind-the-scenes look at both the art and the artist herself.

Magnolia | Abbie Korman

Magnolia | Abbie Korman

GET TO KNOW ABBIE…

Hi, I’m Abbie, I grew up in Norfolk, Virginia and now live in Virginia Beach with my family. I’ve been married to Rob, my high school sweetheart, for twenty-eight years and have been a full-time mom to our two sons, Adam and Michael. But, now that both of my sons are older and leaving the nest, I have more time to pursue my love of photography!

Heart Leaf | Abbie Korman

Heart Leaf | Abbie Korman

TELL US ABOUT YOUR PHOTOGRAPHY

After graduating from the University of Maryland with a BA in Radio, Television and Film, I worked as a television producer in Washington, DC and Baltimore, MD. However, my passion for photography grew, so I started taking several classes at the Museum of Contemporary Art. Lately, I’ve been taking online classes with Kim Manley Ort, a Toronto-based photographer who has taught me so much about “seeing” and the art behind photography.

Specifically, I bought my first camera in 1982 and have been taking photographs ever since! Lately, my work reflects my interest in Wabi Sabi, a Japanese philosophy that beauty is impermanent, imperfect and incomplete.

Sunflower | Abbie Korman

Sunflower | Abbie Korman

HOW DO YOU #LIVEYOURHEALTH

I take care of my mind, body and spirit mainly by eating well, maintaining a regular yoga practice and spending time outdoors photographing nature.

Blue Dragonfly | Abbie Korman

Blue Dragonfly | Abbie Korman

YOUR CONNECTION TO FRUITIVE

I became a customer the very first day it opened (I did “drive-bys” almost every day in anticipation!) and have been a “regular” ever since! I especially love Meet the Beet and the Southwest Romaine Wrap. I knew I wanted to display my artwork at Fruitive because I love the atmosphere, the people and, of course, the food. My hope is that while Fruitive customers are nourished by the delicious food that our Earth provides they will also be nourished by Earth’s visual beauty.

Dandelions | Abbie Korman

Dandelions | Abbie Korman

CONTACT ABBIE

See my artwork at www.earthandeye.com (it’s still a work in progress) or email me at abkorman@cox.net.

2 Responses to “Featured Local Artist: Abbie Korman”

  1. Jeannette Sellers

    Yes! These photos really do make me feel a connection to nature!

    Reply
  2. Jeannette Sellers

    Looking at these photos make me feel a connection to nature.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

