A Fruitive Company Blog

Recipe Friday: Stuff Yo Face Tomatoes

Happy Recipe Friday!

Today we are featuring Ashley Rae, blogger and founder of Rae of Sunshine!


Hi, my name is Ashley Rae and I’m on a mission to show the world that it’s possible to live a happy, healthy, balanced, ‘sunshine’ life without hurting or killing animals. I spend most of my time in the kitchen coming up with new, plant-based food, juice and smoothie recipes. When I’m not cooking up a storm, I enjoy being active outdoors, running, gardening, musical theatre and spending time with family and friends.

Rae of Sunshine

Photo By: Andrea Dyck | http://www.amariephotography.ca

How I #LIVEMYHEALTH

I am equally passionate about animal welfare and the health benefits of a plant based diet and I have been meat free for over twenty years and vegan for close to five years. I rely on fruits and vegetables to keep my body strong and healthy and cannot imagine living any other way. I live my health through balance; nutrition, physical activity and self-care. I also stick to my rule…

“if it comes from a plant, eat it. If it was made in a plant, leave it.”

140302AMP3235

Photo By: Andrea Dyck | http://www.amariephotography.ca

A year ago I was injured in a fire and through the power of a plant-based diet and self-care, my body fully healed itself and my scars have almost disappeared. Throughout my healing process, I learned so much about the importance of living a sunshine life; plant-based nutrition, movement, rest, self-love and happiness. All of this can be done without causing harm to animals and I am on a mission to share this with the world.

140302AMP2845

Photo By: Andrea Dyck | http://www.amariephotography.ca

I started Rae of Sunshine in January 2014 on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter and recently launched my website, Rae of Sunshine, on April 3, 2014. On my site you’ll find my food, juice and smoothie recipes, my stories and tips on sunshine living, interviews with other vegans whom I find inspirational and more!

I am excited to be sharing my favorite recipe with you. It’s on my website and I really believe that everyone needs to make it at home and try it – it’s that good!

Stuff Yo Face Tomatoes | Ashley Rae

Stuff Yo Face Tomatoes | Ashley Rae

Stuff Yo Face Tomatoes

What You’ll Need:
6 large tomatoes, hollowed out
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 onion, minced
1 zucchini, minced
1 apple, minced
½ red pepper, minced
6 Tbsp salsa
½ cup Daiya mozzarella cheese (optional)
2 cups guacamole

What You’ll Do:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2) Heat olive oil in a frying pan. Sauté zucchini, apple, onion and red pepper for ten minutes on medium, stirring constantly to ensure the mixture does not burn at all.

3) Remove from heat.

4) With a tablespoon, line the bottom of the hollowed out tomatoes with salsa.

5) Fill the tomatoes with the zucchini, apple, pepper and onion mixture.

6) Once the tomatoes are full, sprinkle Daiya cheese on top.

7) Bake stuffed tomatoes for 15-20 minutes, until cheese has fully melted.

8) Allow tomatoes to cool for a few moments and then top with a tablespoon of guacamole.

9) Serve with rice mixed with peanuts and fresh cilantro.

Enjoy!

For more recipes by Ashley, visit her BlogFacebookInstagram or Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

