A Fruitive Company Blog

Featured Local Musician: Ian Thornton

We are excited to announce…

that this month’s featured local musician is our very own Ian Randall Thornton! You probably know Ian as one of the friendly faces behind the Fruitive counter. Actually, if you’re a regular, there’s no doubt in our minds that you’ve met him at least once! He was hired two years ago as the very first Fruitive Fresh Tech and has been the longest standing store employee ever since! I think we can all agree that Ian is an astounding addition to the Fruitive team, but did you know that he’s also an amazing musician and song-writer?

mmmmmm

Just check out his press release…

“On February 22nd, 2014, Ian Randall Thornton released his debut EP ‘End Where You Begin,’ a six track continuous song series about the beauty and difficulty of love in the context of change, life, and death. This soulful folk record is a journey of breathtaking tension and release. Intricate, heartfelt acoustic guitar and Ian’s rich baritone blend with tasteful string arrangements and other instruments that seem to enter and exit like a brilliantly choreographed play. Poetic and descriptive lyrics draw you into a cinematic narrative that feels like a good conversation flowing from layer to layer of the weighty topic. For such a lofty conceptual album it remains approachable, human and personal while leaving the listener feeling enriched, embraced and contemplative.” Are you hooked yet?

Ian _i  was  made  to  change_ Single Cover

Well, LET’S GET TO KNOW IAN…

on a more personal level… Hi, I’m Ian, I grew up in Virginia Beach, and have lived in the area for most of my life (with the exception of the short periods when I lived in England and California).  It feels like I have always played music. I started learning piano at the age of six, and from there, proceeded to learn up-right bass, percussion and classical guitar. I’ve enjoyed playing in multiple bands and on many recording projects, but I have more recently discovered my deep love for crafting meaningful songs that move me. I have found that creating songs with these motives has left me feeling fulfilled, and enables me to sing with a fullness of sincerity and passion. I love playing these songs for whoever will listen, so I plan on playing intimate shows throughout America and England this coming year.

Screen Shot 2014-05-12 at 10.36.09 PM

MY CONNECTION TO FRUITIVE

I was hired as Fruitive’s first Fresh Tech 2 years ago. I helped stain chairs, sand floors and build the company from its early roots. To date, I’m the longest standing store employee and I’ve loved every minute of it. I believe in Fruitive and feel like everyone involved in Fruitive believes in me. Gregg, the owner of Fruitive, asks me about my music just as much as he asks me about work related topics. He truly supports me and my dreams, which makes it an honor to support him and his dreams.

randall

How I #LiveMyHealth

Working at Fruitive makes it extremely hard not to #LiveYourHealth. Not only do you receive a detailed education of what is best for your health, but you are also surrounded by some of the best possible foods you can eat. It’s a wonderful dynamic!

Ian Randall Thornton - End Where You Begin CD Cover

WHERE CAN YOU FIND MY MUSIC…

You can listen to my album, “End Where You Begin,” on iTunes, Amazon, Noisetrade, Spotify, and Bandcamp. You can even buy a hardcopy, just stop by Fruitive! Also, don’t forget to link to my Facebook and Instagram accounts for music updates!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

