A Fruitive Company Blog

Recipe Friday: Strawberry Banana Ice Cream

Happy Recipe Friday!

Today we are featuring Jessica Reynolds, blogger and founder of Little Miss Vegetarian!

MEET JESSICA

strawberriesfbcover4

I’m Jessica, an elementary art teacher and plant-based blogger, living in Virginia Beach, VA!  I’ve been a vegetarian ever since I was a child.  Not only do I like to eat plant-based food, I also like to style it and take photos of it.  It’s no secret what I’m having for dinner each night!  Pictures are all over FacebookInstagramPinterest, and Twitter!  My husband patiently waits to eat dinner, while I’m taking pictures.

bananacream1

HOW I #LIVEMYHEALTH

I #LiveMyHealth by trying to inspire others to eat a plant-based diet through my blog, Little Miss Vegetarian. I have found that most people (including friends and family) assume that all I eat are mushrooms and tofu.  I decided to start my blog to show readers that eating a plant-based diet isn’t as limited as they thought!  I share quick and healthy recipes, using ingredients that are easy to find.

bananacream2

2-INGREDIENT STRAWBERRY BANANA ICE CREAM

I promise…you really only need two ingredients to make this amazing Strawberry Banana [vegan] Ice Cream!  My friends couldn’t believe it the first time I posted a picture of my Ice Cream made from just bananas. They had to try it for themselves!  Then we started brainstorming the endless possibilities of flavors!  I thought I’d share this one with you, because it’s a quick and easy way to have a special treat without the dairy!

bananacream4

All you need is two *over ripe* frozen bananas and three or four frozen strawberries.  I just peel the bananas, wash and hull the strawberries, throw them in a plastic bag, and freeze them overnight.  The bananas need to be over ripe or your ice cream won’t be as sweet and creamy. I know this from experience.

Then, you throw them all in a food processor (I used my Ninja) and blend until it becomes a nice creamy consistency, without chunks.

Serve and enjoy! This serves 2-3 people. When you think about it, you could actually have this for breakfast.  It’s just strawberries and bananas.  I’ll bet your kids would award you “Parent of the Year” for serving them “ice cream” for breakfast.

bananacream5

Are you brainstorming flavor ideas, too?  I’m thinking Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip and Banana Bread flavors are next on my list.  I would love to hear your flavor ideas in the comments below!

Love,
Jessica


Want more Little Miss Vegetarian recipes? Check out her Bloglovin’FacebookInstagramTwitter, or Pinterest pages.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

