A Fruitive Company Blog

Recipe Friday: Sea Salt & Vinegar Kale Chips

Happy Recipe Friday!

Today we are featuring Lindsay Amabile, the recipe guru and photographer behind The Local Taste!

MEET LINDSAY…

Hello! I’m Lindsay. I live in the amazing city of Nashville, Tennessee. I’m currently pursuing my second degree in Graphic Design and I’m a lover of all things design, photography, traveling, local restaurants, and farmers’ markets. I recently became a vegetarian and I love trying new foods and enjoying a plant-based diet. Creating and sharing healthy recipes has become not only a hobby, but also something I’m passionate about!

HOW I #LIVEMYHEALTH

I live my health by not sacrificing taste to be healthy. I make it my mission to turn typically unhealthy recipes into something new and healthy. I truly believe that you should never have to eat food that doesn’t taste good to you. I love experimenting with substitutions in my cooking and baking in order to live a healthier lifestyle. I also think by making “grocery shopping” fun you can truly enjoy living a healthy lifestyle instead of it being another thing on the “to do” list. Farmers’ markets and local grocery stores are a great way to learn more about local produce and how foods are grown in your area!

Recipe Friday: Sea Salt & Vinegar Kale Chips

THE LOCAL TASTE

The Local Taste is a blog devoted to sharing vegetarian recipes that require simple ingredients and that are easy to make! On my blog you will find Southern favorites turned vegan, recipes that take 30 minutes or less, and a little about Nashville and other places I’ve traveled. Don’t forget to check out The Local Taste on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, and Twitter!

Recipe Friday: Sea Salt & Vinegar Kale Chips

SEA SALT & VINEGAR KALE CHIPS

Do you ever have days that you crave a huge bag of potato chips? I have to admit one food I miss the most is salt and vinegar chips, but since trying to cut processed foods I try to stay away from the chip aisle at the grocery store. Thankfully I’ve found a cure for those salt/vinegar cravings!

I’m sure by now we’ve all heard about all of the health benefits of this superfood, but it really is amazing all of the nutrients that are packed in this green powerhouse. Kale is full of antioxidants, vitamins, and nutrients!  Kale is especially full of vitamins A, C and K, and a good source of calcium, iron, magnesium, and potassium. Basically kale is awesome.

This recipe is so easy that I almost feel bad for calling it a “recipe.” It only takes a few minutes to whip up these baked beauties, and I promise they’ll be gone in no time!

Recipe Friday: Sea Salt & Vinegar Kale ChipsSea Salt & Vinegar Kale Chips

Ingredients
1 bunch kale
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon white vinegar
sea salt for sprinkling

Directions
1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Rinse kale and pat dry with paper towels.
3. Pull off kale leaves from the inner ribs. Make the leaves as uniform as possible (about potato chip size)
4. Place kale leaves in a large bowl.
5. Pour oil and vinegar over kale leaves.
6. Using your hands toss the kale with the oil and vinegar making sure to coat it as evenly as possible.
7. Place coated kale leaves on a parchment lined baking sheet.
8. Sprinkle kale with sea salt.
9. Bake for approximately 15 minutes until leaves are crisp and slightly browned.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

