A Fruitive Company Blog

Recipe Friday: Raspberry Chia Jam Overnight Oats

Happy Recipe Friday!

Today we are featuring the lovely Miss Kate Gavlick, founder and recipe guru of Vegukate. Or as she puts it… “the Kate behind the Vegu.”

MEET KATE

Hi, I’m Kate and I’m the healthy foodie blogger behind Vegukate. I’m perky about peaches, I crave avocados and oatmeal, and I’m absolutely in love with all things green; but I haven’t always been a health nut. After gaining the dreaded ‘freshman 15’ in college, I started to really look at what was in the food I was eating.

Recipe Friday: Raspberry Chia Jam Overnight Oats

When I realized that the protein bars I considered ‘health food’ had ingredients with longer syllables than onomatopoeia, I began to radically change my diet and lifestyle. I quickly adopted a whole-foods, plant-based lifestyle, and I started visiting places that I only had heard about in the movies…like the farmer’s market and juice bars. Nowadays, I’m super passionate about sharing my veg-loving knowledge with others, which is why I started my blog Vegukate.

Recipe Friday: Raspberry Chia Jam Overnight OatsHOW I #LIVEMYHEALTH

After changing my diet and lifestyle, I realized that the easiest way for me to #livemyhealth was through my mouth (giggle giggle). I traded in my past boyfriends of Ben and Jerry for kale and quinoa, and my energy, skin, weight, and hair happily obliged. I also live my health through experimenting in the kitchen, practicing yoga, dancing, hot and sweaty hikes, stalking farmer’s market vendors, sneaking avocados into everything, traveling the world, and cooking for those I love.

Recipe Friday: Raspberry Chia Jam Overnight OatsABOUT VEGUKATE

I started Vegukate with a simple philosophy on food: eat what’s real and toss what’s not. I believe in eating real whole foods; not “food” made with refined sugars, artificial chemicals, weird additives, and ingredients a 5 year old can’t pronounce. I believe that counting the number of ingredients a food has is far more important than counting its calories and grams of fat. I believe that eating foods, as close to their natural form as possible makes us happier, healthier, brighter, and bolder. But most importantly, I believe that food has the power to heal or harm us, and having the knowledge to distinguish between the two is the most important thing for your health and wellbeing.

Recipe Friday: Raspberry Chia Jam Overnight OatsRASPBERRY CHIA JAM OVERNIGHT OATS

Raspberry Chia Jam:
1 cup fresh raspberries
1 T honey/agave/maple syrup
1 T fresh squeezed lemon juice
2 T chia seeds

Combine raspberries, honey/agave/maple syrup, and lemon juice in a bowl. Using a fork, mash raspberries until they begin to resemble a mushy jam. Stir in chia seeds, cover with a lid, and set in refrigerator to chill overnight.

Overnight Oats:
2 cups rolled oats* (use gluten-free for gluten-free option)
2 cups unsweetened almond milk
1 T vanilla extract
1-2 T maple syrup (optional)

In a large jar combine all ingredients and thoroughly mixed. If you would like sweeter oats, add in a tablespoon of honey/maple syrup or two. Cover and store in the refrigerator overnight.

In the morning layer oats with raspberry chia jam and garnish with fresh raspberries or nuts if desired. Enjoy!

Recipe Friday: Raspberry Chia Jam Overnight Oats


WANT MORE VEGUKATE?

Check out Kate’s blog, Instagram & Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

