A Fruitive Company Blog

Recipe Friday: Salted Caramel & Sesame Chocolate Cream Tarts

Happy Recipe Friday!

Today we are featuring the brains behind This Rawsome Vegan Life, Emily von Euw!

MEET EMILY

My name’s Emily von Euw and I am the girl behind This Rawsome Vegan Life, a blog where I proudly create, photograph and share wholesome plant-based recipes for the world to enjoy. I also study history at university while I live in Vancouver, Canada. I love trees, raw vegan desserts, baked yams, dancing, my romantic partner, my friends and family, and helping people find happiness through healthiness. I am the author of the internationally-published best-selling Rawsome Vegan Baking (an all raw vegan gluten-free desserts cookbook) and my new book, 100 Best Juices, Smoothies & Healthy Snacks, is coming out in early December!

Recipe Friday: Salted Caramel & Sesame Chocolate Cream Tarts

HOW I #LIVEMYHEALTH

I #LiveMyHealth by making laughter, love, regular exercise and eating whole foods top priorities. All these things help me to be the best I can be because they make me happy and strong.

Recipe Friday: Salted Caramel & Sesame Chocolate Cream Tarts

THIS RAWSOME VEGAN LIFE

This Rawsome Vegan Life is a site where everyone is welcome, a place where I am excited to consistently share new recipes that are made with love and healthy vegan ingredients (fruits, nuts, veggies, etc.) As long as you are interested in eating delicious food, you can find something you’ll like on my blog. I started This Rawsome Vegan Life in October of 2011 when I was around 17 years old. I had been creating raw vegan recipes in the kitchen and sharing them with family and friends, they all urged me to start sharing then in a bigger way by making a blog. So reluctantly I did, and This Rawsome Vegan Life was looking pretty amateur at first. But soon my perfectionist mind kicked in and I got obsessed with making my blog, recipes and photos better. Then I got on social media. And lo and behold – I am now a professional blogger and published cookbook author! Thank you, world wide web!

Recipe Friday: Salted Caramel & Sesame Chocolate Cream Tarts

SALTED CARAMEL & SESAME CHOCOLATE CREAM TARTS

Makes 6-7 servings.

Ingredients

Crust:
1 cup dates
1 cup rolled oats (or walnuts)

Salted caramel:
1 cup dates
1/4 cup coconut oil (or 1 banana)
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 tablespoon maple syrup (preferably infused with vanilla)
Water, if needed

Sesame chocolate cream:
2 tablespoons tahini
2 tablespoons cacao powder
Water, if needed

Directions

To make the crust: pulse the oats in a food processor until they turn into a powdery mix. Add the dates and process until it all starts to stick together. Add more dates if it’s still too crumbly. Press into the bottoms and sides of tart tins and put in the fridge.

To make the caramel: blend everything until smooth. Add a little bit of water if it’s too thick. Spread half of this mixture into the bottom of your tart crusts – leave the other half in the blender – then put the tarts back in the fridge.

To make the chocolate cream: add the tahini and cacao to the remaining caramel in your blender. Blend until fully combined, adding water if it’s too thick. Spread the chocolate onto your tarts, sprinkle with sesame seeds and enjoy!


Want more of This Rawsome Vegan Life?

Visit the blog, facebook, twitter, tumblr, pinterest, and instagram pages.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

