A Fruitive Company Blog

Recipe Friday: Roasted Tomato & Garlic Soup

Happy Recipe Friday!

Today we are featuring the recipe guru, food stylist, and photographer behind The Blonde Chef – Aubrie Cornelius!


MEET AUBRIE & LEARN ABOUT HOW SHE #Livesherhealth

Hello! My name is Aubrie Cornelius, and I am the chef/food stylist/photographer behind The Blonde Chef! During the day I work as a teacher, but at night I pursue my two passions; food and photography. I currently live in the DC area with my husband, and we love it!
Growing up, I was always surrounded by fresh vegetables and whole foods (thanks, Mom) and the belief that cooking is the best way to show love. I have always enjoyed sharing nutritious, wholesome and real foods with my friends and family and that passion grew into what is now The Blonde Chef!

The Blonde ChefAs an adult, I have come to realize the importance of using food as “fuel” for your body and consciously selecting the right nutrients according to your body’s needs. While I am not vegetarian nor vegan, I do believe in a diet primarily composed of plant-based foods. I #livemyhealth by actively learning about sustainable foods, exercising and sharing the joy of natural, raw foods with those around me!

Recipe Friday: Roasted Tomato & Garlic Soup

ABOUT THE BLONDE CHEF

After following food blogs for years, and drooling over the gorgeous photos they presented, I began photographing the meals I cooked for fun. Upon receiving positive feedback from friends and family, I decided to start my own this past September! TBC is a creative space that focuses on culturally-diverse meals that are designed with a healthy lifestyle in mind. Although I am still in my blogging infancy, I have truly never felt such joy and fulfillment from any other career.  I feel inspired everyday, and try to convey that sense of wonderment with my readers!

Recipe Friday: Roasted Tomato & Garlic Soup

ROASTED TOMATO & GARLIC SOUP

This gorgeous tomato soup is by far my favorite version of the classic dish. It is made with slow roasted tomatoes, garlic, and arbol chiles blended together with coconut cream until smooth. I love hearty soups, so I also added lentils, slowly simmered until soft and tender, and cannelloni beans for a soup that keeps you full longer.

Recipe Friday: Roasted Tomato & Garlic Soup

Roasted Tomato & Garlic Soup

Prep time:  15 mins
Cook time:  1 hour 30 mins
Total time:  1 hour 45 mins
Serves: 4 servings

Ingredients
1 cup dry lentils
1 can cannellini beans
8-10 ripe tomatoes (quartered)
3 Arbol Chiles
5 garlic cloves (whole)
1 onion (quartered)
A pinch of Salt and a few cracks of freshly ground pepper
3 TBS. olive oil
1 cup heavy coconut cream
3 cups vegetable broth
4 basil leaves (I used fresh)
1 tsp. paprika
1 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. salt

Instructions

About an hour beforehand (or the night before), place lentils in a medium-sized bowl and cover completely with water.

Preheat the oven to 350. On a lined baking sheet, add the tomatoes, onion, chilies, and garlic and coat in olive oil. Season with salt and pepper then toss together to thoroughly coat. Allow to roast for about 45 minutes to an hour (or until the vegetables are slightly golden brown).

In a food processor, add the roasted veggies along with the coconut cream, vegetable broth, basil, paprika, salt and chili powder then blend until smooth. In a large pot, add the pureed tomato mixture. Bring to a simmer, and add the lentils and let simmer for 30 minutes. Add cannellini beans, allowing to heat through.

Once heated, serve immediately!


Want more of The Blonde Chef? 

Visit her blog, facebook, instagram, or pinterest accounts.

4 Responses to “Recipe Friday: Roasted Tomato & Garlic Soup”

  1. Britt

    Delicious! Aubrie’s meals always look gorgeous–I want to try them all!

    Reply
  2. Stephen C

    This recipe is delicious. A healthy and filling soup that all can enjoy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

