A Fruitive Company Blog

Recipe Friday: Dark Chocolate Olive Oil Truffles

Happy Recipe Friday!

Today we are featuring the lovely Miss Abbie, photographer & recipe guru behind Needs Salt.


MEET ABBIE

Hiii. I’m Abbie. And I’m passionate about making crazy healthy food taste ridiculously delicious. My total weakness (like a lot of you) is sweets. Who doesn’t completely fall head over heals in love with anything dusted with sugar, piled with frosting or covered in chocolate? Problem is, the aforementioned brilliance isn’t exactly good for you – which is what gets me running into the kitchen (with my fuzzy socks, yes) every day: to make something crazy good and super healthy. I believe that the food we eat should be real and it should make us feel and look beautiful. “Indulgence” should be considered any food that makes us utterly vibrant in every way.

Recipe Friday: Dark Chocolate Olive Oil TrufflesHOW I #LIVEMYHEALTH

I live my health by taking conventional, unhealthy recipes and transforming them into something spectacular. I firmly believe that healthy stuff should taste good – and it should be affordable and easy! The simplest recipes are the best, right? I hate it when I hear somebody claim that eating healthy is expensive. How sad! Today, grocery stores are packed with healthy and affordable products. It’s easy to swap fruits and veggies for packaged foods – they make much better snacks. Plus we can all benefit from being healthy, right? Being sick is super expensive, after all.

I’m excited to take on every idea of a kitchen challenge! I love to nourish myself, and my family, with creative and awesome tasting food. I love to enjoy what I eat and never feel guilty about it. I love to create healthful, delicious food because I want to share health, wholeness and beauty with you.

Recipe Friday: Dark Chocolate Olive Oil TrufflesABOUT NEEDS SALT

Needs Salt is a place where everything is covered in pure maple syrup and thoroughly topped with pink Himalayan salt (I’ve gotta crush on it.) I’m absolutely *crazy* for waffles and baked doughnuts and pretty much anything that involves chocolate or blueberries or both. I make easy, healthy, stellar-tasting food and share my best recipes with you guys – not without some over-dramatized story telling (which more often than not snowballs into digression) and tons of pictures — courtesy of my flour-covered camera! And and and! – if you follow me on Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, Google+ and/or Bloglovin, I’ll be like, so ridiculously happy. For real.

Recipe Friday: Dark Chocolate Olive Oil TrufflesDARK CHOCOLATE OLIVE OIL TRUFFLES

Where do I even start? Dark and dreamy on the outside, sweet and creamy on the inside – it’s hard to believe these little guys are healthy, never mind *raw and vegan*. This recipe started out as a total mistake (but that’s where most brilliant foods are born… ammaright? – think chocolate chip cookies!) With just 7 simple (but super healthful) ingredients, a food processor and 30 minutes, these truffles are almost too good to be true. But yep, they are completely true and 100% good for you. YOU LOVE ME? Aw, thanks! Now go make these. You know you want to.

Recipe Friday: Dark Chocolate Olive Oil Truffles
Dark Chocolate Olive Oil Truffles 

Prep Time: 30 minutes
Yields: 2 dozen

Ingredients:

For the truffles:
1 cup medjool* dates, pitted
1/2 cup raw almond butter
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/3 cup cocoa/cacao powder
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract (optional)
pinch of salt (optional, but c’mon)

For the chocolate coating:
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
1/4 cup cocoa/cacao powder
2 tablespoons pure maple syrup (or agave)
unrefined confectioner’s sugar or cocoa powder, for coating

Directions:

Prepare by soaking dates in warm water for 15 minutes. Also line a cookie sheet (small enough to fit in your freezer) with parchment paper; set aside.

Make the truffles:

Place soaked dates in the bowl of a food processor and blend until smooth. You may need to stop the machine at intervals and scrape down the sides with a rubber spatula as needed. Add almond butter, olive oil, cocoa powder, vanilla and salt to the food processor and blend again, until fully combined. The mixture should be smooth and sticky. Using your hands (dampened with a bit of water, if needed) roll the mixture into small balls (about 1 tablespoon each) and place on prepared cookie sheet. Place in the freezer and chill for a few minutes while you prepare the chocolate coating.

Make the chocolate coating:

In a small saucepan (or in a microwave-safe bowl) melt coconut oil and stir in cocoa powder and maple syrup until very smooth. Remove cookie sheet from freezer and carefully dip each truffle into the chocolate coating, evenly covering all sides. Allow any excess chocolate to drip off, then place back on the parchment-line baking sheet. Repeat with all the remaining truffles, then pop them back into the freezer to harden the chocolate coating. Toss truffles in cocoa powder or confectioner’s sugar just before serving. Store truffles in the freezer for up to 2 weeks.

Notes:

*I recommend using medjool dates because they’re super soft and creamy – but you can also use deglet noor or any other kind of dates.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

