A Fruitive Company Blog

Recipe Friday: Banana Bread Granola & Peanut Butter Banana Bread Breakfast Bars

Happy Recipe Friday!

Today we are featuring Jenn Sebestyen, the recipe guru and brains behind Veggie Inspired Journey!


MEET JENN

My name is Jenn Sebestyen, creator of Veggie Inspired Journey. I am a wife and mom of three. My son is 6 years old and my twin daughters are almost 3 years old. I love to cook; I can read cookbooks like novels; and I enjoy experimenting in the kitchen by making standard American favorites healthier.

Banana Bread Breakfast Bars

Banana Bread Granola

When my son was just a newborn, I happened to be in the library and noticed Alicia Silverstone’s, The Kind Diet. At the time, I was eating a standard American diet, but considered myself to be making healthy food choices most of the time. I have no idea what compelled me to pick up her book and check it out, but I did. I read it cover to cover before the end of that day and vowed to never again drink dairy milk. From there, my thirst for knowledge about a plant-based diet grew with each day. I slowly started transitioning my diet to incorporate more greens and beans and less animal products. I’ve always been a veggie lover, so it wasn’t a huge jump, but a plant-based diet still takes a new way of thinking about what the dinner plate should look like.

Banana Bread Granola

HOW I #LIVEMYHEALTH

When my son turned 6 months old, I knew I would not be buying any prepackaged baby food for him. I started making all of his baby food, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Now at 6 years old, he is an incredibly well rounded eater. He certainly has his picky eating moments, but compared to most 6 year olds, he is a breeze to feed. I made all the baby food for my girls as well. I have one that eats everything and anything and one that is a pickier eater, but I still consider her a fairly well rounded eater.

Banana Bread Breakfast Bars

I truly believe that consuming a well-rounded whole foods plant-based diet is the healthiest way to eat. My husband and kids are not 100% plant-based, but since nearly all of what I make at home is whole foods plant based and very low sugar, I’m not concerned with the occasional treat they might have. To be completely honest, I have been known to sneak a piece of real cheese or a sugary cookie every now and then too. Clearly, I am not perfect, but I try my best to make the healthiest choices I can in every situation. I named my blog Veggie Inspired Journey for this exact reason. Health is not something that you achieve and then never have to think about again; it is a lifelong journey.

I absolutely love the philosophy at Fruitive. While I have not had the chance to personally try their products or visit their restaurant, you better believe it will be first on my list if I ever get to Virginia Beach. I will definitely be ordering the Southwest Romaine Wrap with a piece of Chocolate Mouse Cake. OMG!

Banana Bread Granola

BANANA BREAD GRANOLA & BREAKFAST BARS

I’m giving you two brand new recipes today that are not on my blog. Being the mom of 3, I have to make sure what I’m making is not only healthy, but kid-friendly. I could create the world’s healthiest superfood meal ever, but if the kids don’t eat it, what is the point? Both of these recipes qualify and are kid approved. They can be enjoyed as breakfast, a snack or a sweet treat. The Peanut Butter Banana Bread Breakfast Bars are a perfect addition to my son’s lunchbox and I love the Banana Bread Granola in the morning with fresh bananas, strawberries or blueberries and a splash of rice milk.

These recipes also couldn’t be easier. In fact, you use the granola recipe to make the breakfast bars with the addition of only two extra ingredients. I make them both at the same time and we are set for the week. I hope you enjoy them as much as my family does.

Banana Bread Granola

Banana Bread Granola

HEALTHY BANANA BREAD GRANOLA

Makes 4-5 cups

Ingredients
2 ½ cups raw old-fashioned oats
½ cup raw quinoa (I like tri-color quinoa for color), rinsed and drained
½ cup raw walnuts, rough chopped
½ cup dried banana chips, rough chopped
¼ cup flax meal
1 cup mashed banana (about 2 medium)
¼ cup pure maple syrup
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
Combine oats, quinoa, walnuts, banana chips and flax meal in a large bowl.
In a separate bowl, whisk together the mashed banana, maple syrup, cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla.
Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and stir well until the entire mixture is coasted evenly.
Pour mixture onto a Silpat or Parchment lined baking sheet in one even layer.
Bake 20-25 minutes, stirring halfway.
Let cool. Granola will get crispier as it sits.

I like to store this in a glass jar on the counter with an airtight lid. It doesn’t last very long in our house!

Banana Bread Breakfast Bars

PEANUT BUTTER BANANA BREAD BREAKFAST BARS

Makes 12 bars

Ingredients
2 cups Healthy Banana Bread Granola mixture BEFORE baking the granola
½ cup organic natural creamy peanut butter
¼ cup pure maple syrup

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
Combine ingredients in a medium bowl and mix well to coat evenly.
Press mixture into a parchment lined 8×8-baking dish.
Bake 25 minutes.
Let cool before cutting.

I like to make these two recipes at the same time. You’ll end up with about 3 cups of granola and 12 breakfast bars. They can bake in the oven together. You may need to add an additional 5-10 min of cooking time.


If these look good to you, I would love for you to follow me at http://www.veggieinspiredjourney.com/. You can also follow me on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

