A Fruitive Company Blog

Recipe Friday: Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge Overnight Oats

Happy Recipe Friday!

Hello there! I’m Claudia and blog over at The Breakfast Drama Queen. Today I’m delighted to be a part of Recipe Friday!

ABOUT ME

As you’ve probably guessed, I’m somewhat fond of breakfast (meaning that I’m completely obsessed with it). However – to my shame – as a child I always hated breakfast. To me, breakfast mean soggy cereal or boring toast. Boo.

It wasn’t until I turned vegetarian at age 14 (becoming the sole vegetarian in a family of four) that I began to experiment more with my meals. Then I discovered the joys of granola, muesli and smoothies. Eventually I found oatmeal (yeah, kind of late to the party) and realized that all of my favorite breakfast creations could be made at home.

This started my obsession with the most important meal of the day, eventually resulting in my most loved hobby, The Breakfast Drama Queen.

Is there more to my life than breakfast? Surprisingly, yes. I recently completed a Bachelor of Economics at university, and will be entering my first year law school this year. Where will this lead me? I have no idea. Maybe I’ll end up with a ‘serious’ job, or maybe I’ll follow my life-long dream of selling healthy granola.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge Overnight Oats

HOW I #LIVEMyHEALTH

Another (positive) impact of turning vegetarian was that I became more conscious of what goes into our food, and what really shouldn’t be there. I was shocked when I discovered that granola – a food that looks healthy enough – is often loaded with added oils and more sugar than a candy bar. I’ve even seen granola with butter listed in the ingredients. Why, people, why?

As breakfast should be a meal that gives you energy to start the day, I try to make my breakfasts as healthy as possible without being bland or boring. So I include healthy food that I genuinely love to eat: fruit, vegetables, nuts and oats. Lots of oats.

That being said, I’m a complete supporter of moderation. A few chocolate chips or teaspoons of sugar aren’t going to destroy your health, and I’ll happily admit to being an avid chocolate lover. Besides, dark chocolate has antioxidants, right?

A LITTLE BIT MORE ABOUT THE BLOG

The Breakfast Drama Queen isn’t just about breakfast recipes or healthy recipes: it’s also about fun recipes. I love to celebrate holidays through breakfast, recreate my favorite desserts as breakfasts, and sometimes post things that may seem (and probably are) a step too far – such as the deceptively named Burger Baked Oatmeal (oddly enough, it’s vegan and sweet).

On the blog you’ll find recipes such as Banana Split Pancakes, Pumpkin Cinnamon Roll Baked Oatmeal, and the highly addictive Peanut Butter and Chocolate ‘Butterfinger’ Granola. And of course you’ll find me there, always happy to talk pancakes or just say ‘hi’.

Have a fun and fabulous Friday!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge Overnight Oats

CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER FUDGE OVERNIGHT OATS

Serves 2

Ingredients
1 very ripe banana
1 cup pumpkin puree
3 – 4 tablespoons peanut butter*
3 tablespoons cocoa powder (or cacao)
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1 tablespoon maple syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2/3 cup rolled oats
1 cup almond milk
Chopped nuts, chocolate chips and/or peanut butter, to serve

Directions
Mash the banana in a large bowl or container. Mix in the pumpkin puree, peanut butter, cocoa powder, chia seeds, maple syrup and vanilla extract.
Add the rolled oats and almond milk and mix until completely combined.
Cover the bowl with plastic wrap (or put the lid on the container) and leave in the fridge overnight.
In the morning, divide the oats between two bowls. Top with chopped nuts, chocolate chips and/or peanut butter. Enjoy!

*If possible, use Peanut Butter & Co.’s Dark Chocolate Dreams


Want more of The Breakfast Drama Queen?

Visit her facebook, instagram, or pinterest pages!

2 Responses to “Recipe Friday: Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge Overnight Oats”

  1. basicallyatwentysomething

    That looks so tasty! Its like my favourite things mashed into one, gimme! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

