A Fruitive Company Blog

Recipe Friday: Brussels Sprouts with “Bacon”

Happy Recipe Friday!

Today we are featuring Caroline Waters of “The G-Free RD to be” blog and her plant-based recipe, Brussels Sprouts with “Bacon.”

MEET CAROLINE

Hi! My name is Caroline and I am a recent graduate of the University of Georgia, with a B.S. in Dietetics. I am currently a full-time nutritionist with a WIC program here in Athens, GA. (WIC is a government program that delivers free food vouchers to low-income families (Women, Infants, and Children) in exchange for nutrition education and counseling) It’s a fun job and I love helping people make positive changes in their lives to better their health and their family’s health. I am planning on getting my Masters as well as become a Registered Dietitian in the next few years.

Recipe Friday: Brussels Sprouts with “Bacon”

ABOUT “THE G-FREE RD TO BE”

I created a nutrition/recipe blog this year titles “The G-Free RD to be” and it has been fun photographing and creating healthy recipes for the site. The “G-free” stands for gluten free & guilt free. I am gluten intolerant, so I have to avoid all gluten. I am also on the pathway to become a “Registered Dietitian”, also known as an RD. I first started blogging as a hobby and did not know what I was doing, but I have gotten so much positive feedback it has become something I want to stick with! I dabbled in photography in High School, so it has been fun bringing this passion of mine back and tying it into my career as a Nutritionist. I simply love being able to share healthy recipes and nutrition info to people all over and to be able to help people discern facts from myths.

Recipe Friday: Brussels Sprouts with “Bacon”

HOW I #LIVEMYHEALTH

I “live my health” with balance! For instance, I had a ton of pizza last night, but to balance it out I opted for a healthy green smoothie today and plenty of water. As for my nutrition philosophy, I’m all about balance and fueling my body with whole foods, primarily plant-based. I agree with author Michael Pollen as he states, “Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.” My diet usually consists of fresh fruits and vegetables, lean proteins like tofu, tempeh, fish (I adore sushi!), sometimes chicken, whole grains (I’m gluten intolerant unfortunately) like quinoa, brown rice, and gluten free breads/granola, as well as raw nuts, seeds, almond butter, fresh pressed juices and smoothies, and some low-fat dairy like Greek yogurt. I actually love going grocery shopping and picking out yummy and healthy foods to cook with! I indulge in dark chocolate and homemade vegan treats and workout regularly (running, boxing, yoga, circuit training). I truly believe living a healthy lifestyle with nutritional foods and exercise relays into EVERY aspect of your life! Your overall health, self-esteem, work, relationships, family, etc are all affected. Ever since I learned about nutrition, eliminated gluten, and improved my diet, I have never felt better!

Recipe Friday: Brussels Sprouts with “Bacon”

 

MY THOUGHTS ON FRUITIVE…

As a nutritionist, my nutritional ideals align perfectly with Fruitive. The ingredients they use are only natural fruits, vegetables, legumes, nuts, seeds, grains, oils, natural sweeteners and extracts, herbs, spices, and yeasts or boosting agents. These are ALL plant-based, vegan, and the healthiest foods you can put in your body! I love Fruitive because they serve TONS of foods and juices that are great for people with food allergies like me, and people who are vegetarian, vegan, or lactose intolerant. Juices are amazingly beneficial as a quick way to get in nutrients, but juicing alone is not healthy. So, I love that they also serve salads, wraps, healthy desserts, muffins, and smoothies, which maintain the fiber our bodies need. So, you can get a balance of everything easily from their whole menu. While eating or ordering from Fruitive, you can be absolutely sure that you are eating wholesome, healthy foods that will fuel your body in the healthiest way possible, without any additives, chemicals, or animal products. It truly is amazing! Now, all we need to do is make more restaurants like this in the US!

Recipe Friday: Brussels Sprouts with “Bacon”

BRUSSELS SPROUTS WITH “BACON”

This recipe is easy to make, and will convert even the most stubborn Brussels haters out there! Most people use bacon or pancetta to pan fry Brussels to give them flavor, but this recipe has all the flavor, without the extra sodium and fat and it’s totally plant-based! I honestly used to never eat Brussels sprouts, but I have started trying new vegetables and I adore Brussels when prepared this way. Try them out, you won’t be disappointed! They work perfectly as a side dish or on top a bowl of quinoa, tempeh, onions, and sweet potato for a complete plant-based meal. Yum!

Ingredients:
2 TBSP Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 large bag of Brussels sprouts
1 TBSP Earth balance vegetable oil butter (or any other plant-based butter/margarine)
1 tsp sea salt
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp garlic powder
⅛ cup BBQ Coconut Bacon (Phoney Baloney’s brand…I found them at The Fresh Market, they also sell them online! Or you can easily make your own)
1 TBSP balsamic glaze (I used Trader Joe’s brand)

Directions:
Wash brussels carefully.
Chop off ends of each brussel sprout and discard.
Slice brussels in half, and place all brussels in a large frying pan with the olive oil.
Keep the brussel pieces that flake off, as they will fry into perfect crispy bites.
Sprinkle brussels with salt, pepper, and garlic.
Start heat on medium heat and add butter.
Stir brussels until butter is melted and all is mixed.
Leave on medium heat and let cook for 5-8 minutes with lid on.
Check brussels and stir throughout.
Add coconut bacon, mix throughout, and cook under lid for 5 more minutes or until brussels are browned but not burnt.
Let brussels cool once done cooking, and add to serving dish.
Drizzle balsamic glaze as desired on top of dish.

Enjoy!

Store leftovers in an airtight container in the fridge.


WANT MORE OF THE G-FREE RD TO BE?

Check out her instagram, twitter, and facebook profiles!

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

