A Fruitive Company Blog

Recipe Friday: Raw Asian Slaw & Clementine and Pink Grapefruit Juice

Happy Recipe Friday!

Today we are featuring the lovely Amy, author and photographer of Ring the Merchant, plus two of her delicious and nutritious recipes: Raw Asian Slaw & Clementine and Pink Grapefruit Juice!

MEET AMY

Hello my name is Amy from Ring the Merchant and I am overjoyed to be a part of Fruitive’s Recipe Friday.

I am originally from Birmingham in England but I live in Belfast, Northern Ireland. I am an artist and a director of the blog. I graduated with a BA Fine Art Honours degree in 2011. Ring the Merchant is the result of me overhauling my lifestyle and preventing regular, reoccurring illnesses.

Raw Asian Slaw

HOW I #LIVEMYHEALTH

In April 2014 I cut out meat, dairy, alcohol, caffeine, refined sugar, salt, additives and preservatives. Then I cleared my fridge and cupboards of these culprits and started all over again. As extreme as this may sound it was the best thing that I ever did. With a view to treat food as medicine I began to treat my body as a ‘temple’. I ate only fresh fruits, vegetables, potatoes, pasta and rice. It is amazing what you can create with a few fruits and vegetables. It is absolutely possible to survive and thrive on a plant-based diet. What I learned very early on is that abundance is key. I eat as much fruit as I can when I follow Rawtill4. I eat until I am full and satisfied which it an amazing feeling!

I follow inspiring women like Loni Jane Anthony, Freelee the Banana Girl and Ellen Fisher on Instagram. Everybody needs inspiration to make a change and these fabulous women are mine.

I exercise everyday but I exercise for about 20 / 30 minutes at the most. I favour yoga and cycling as it is more than enough to keep me in shape. I have lost over ten pounds and I am in the best shape of my life. A plant-based lifestyle is awesome!

Living your health incorporates more than just food in my eyes it is a mixture of eating healthy, gentle exercise and positive thinking that creates and sustains health.

Raw Asian Slaw

ABOUT RING THE MERCHANT

Ring the Merchant is my exploration of a healthy lifestyle opened up for all to see. It is an informative blog that curates a healthy lifestyle. I explore in depth recipes, foods in season, health, body and mind. It is through a natural, wholesome and abundant approach to well being that Ring the Merchant is a unique alternative. I like to create recipes that only require a few ingredients as it makes them affordable and simple to make. I understand that healthy eating can be expensive so I always consider that when I am experimenting with recipes. Health should be easy, affordable and exclude nobody.

If anybody has any questions or queries please feel free to email me.

Best wishes and kindest regards, Amy x

For more information about Ring the Merchant please check out www.ringthemerchant.com.

You can also follow my healthy eating adventures on social media at Instagram , Facebook , Twitter and Pinterest.

And here are the oh-so-delicious recipes!!!

Raw Asian Slaw

RAW ASIAN SLAW

Firstly you want to make the dressing. Warning! This will not be the most attractive dressing that you will ever make, but it’s worth it for the depth of flavour it provides.

You will need 2 garlic cloves, a thumb of ginger, 1/4 lemon, 1 tablespoon agave syrup, 1 tablespoon tamari and 2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar.

Finely chop up the garlic and ginger.

In a small dish combine the agave syrup with the rice wine vinegar and tamari.

Add the chopped garlic and ginger to the dish and mix.

Leave the dressing to the side as this will be poured over the slaw when it’s ready.

For the raw asian slaw you will need 1 carrot, 1 red cabbage leaf, 3 green cabbage leaves, 1/2 red pepper, 3 spring onions, handful of fresh coriander, 1 tablespoon sesame seeds.

Chop up red and green cabbage into thin strips, then pop into a large bowl.

Peel a carrot then using a grater, grate the carrot over the cabbage.

Chop the red pepper and spring onion into thin strips

Roughly chop the coriander and add to the bowl.

Sprinkle over 1 tablespoon of sesame seeds into the mix.

Take the dressing that you made earlier and pour it over the slaw.

Then get in there and mix it up. Don’t be shy, the more you mix the tastier the slaw will be.

There you have it, the Raw Asian Slaw is ready to be served.

There are things a plenty that you can do with a mighty asian slaw.

– Make up a big batch and serve with golden no fat potatoes and baby corn on the cobs.

– Toast up a bagel, slather on hummus and load with asian slaw.

– Pan fried asian slaw with rice noodles. It’s delicious!

Clementine and Pink Grapefruit Juice

CLEMENTINE & PINK GRAPEFRUIT JUICE

This is another juice that only requires 3 ingredients with one of them being water. You also do not need any frozen fruits. If you love your clementines this juice is the juice for you! It is a magnificently sweet and scrumptious juice that is packed with vitamin C. Did you know that even the smell of clementines can release a secretion in the brain which relieves stress. Tasty and good for your brain!

You will need 5 clementines, 1 pink grapefruit and 500ml filtered water.

Peel the clementines.

Break up the segments and drop them into a blender / smoothie maker.

Peel the pink grapefruit. I like to cut it in half and then using a knife cut the skin away from the segments. I do this because grapefruit pith is particularly thick. The best way to remove it is to cut it.

Halve the segments and cut away the middle part of the grapefruit that is mainly pith and seeds.

Add the grapefruit segments to the blender.

Pour in 500 ml of filtered water.

Pulse the mix on high for 2 minutes.

Pulse on low for 2 minutes.

Empty the juice into glasses and serve.

If you follow these instructions you will make 1 litre of the clementine and pink grapefruit juice.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

